Staten Island Half-Marathon

8 Oct

Even though I’m only racing a half-marathon tomorrow, I find myself getting more and more antsy as the night hours dwindle away.  I realized earlier today that this is the first real race I’m going to be competing in since March 2010.  While I did several races while I was pregnant, I had to keep my heart rate at a specified level as per my Dr’s guidance – I was not allowed to get too out of breath!

There’s a certain excitement in knowing that you will be pushing yourself as hard as you can the next day. No more time for training.  No more time for worrying.  The only things left for me to do is make sure I drink enough water and get a good night’s sleep.

I don’t expect to PR tomorrow; while I’ve put in enough miles to feel strong over the 13.1 miles, I know that I haven’t done enough speed or tempo work to PR.  But, if nothing else, it will show me where I am at, and hopefully I can adapt and focus on what I need to in time for the marathon.

In addition, since I need another good long run before the big day (marathon!), I am having my dad drop me off at the start – and will have no way of returning except my own 2 legs…It should add another 7 miles to put me at 20 for the day.

For all those racing the SI half tomorrow, best of luck!  See you at the start!!

One Response to “Staten Island Half-Marathon”

  1. Linda King October 8, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

    Good Luck, Michele…I will be thinking of you! I love you – Mommy…xoxox

Leave a Reply

