30 for 30

13 Oct

I am turning 30 next Friday.  Surprisingly, I am not having any anxiety or trepidation about this supposed momentous event in my life.  I think a lot has to do with the realization that I’m completely happy with my life and the family and friends I surround myself with these days.  I haven’t accomplished everything I thought I would by this age – I’m not holding down a powerful, high-paying job (I’m a stay-at-home mom), my family is not living in a huge house (we are in a 2-BR apt to save some $ to buy a home – hopefully in the next few months), and I often struggle to find the time and energy to head out the door each day to get a 45 min run in (nothing near my plans to have completed several ultras by this point)…But despite all of these “shortcomings”, I’ve never been so happy.  
I’ve decided to celebrate my 30th birthday by doing what else?  Running!!  What better way to start the new year – and new decade – then running?  And since 30 is a special year, I have decided to run my age in miles!!  
I’m going to be doing the 30 miles this weekend (about a week before my birthday) since I don’t want to put in such high mileage only 2 weeks before the NYC Marathon.  Plus, I plan to spend my actual birthday with my husband and son (which easily beats out running any day!!).
“After 30, a body has a mind of its own.”
~ Bette Midler
So bring it on, 30th year!!  =)

Leave a Reply

