What are your goals?

26 Oct

I have a long list of races that I want to complete.  Certain times that I want to run the marathon and half-marathon in.  Distances I want to run. 


Yet, I have never told them to anyone – including my husband, family and closest friends. 


Why have I not shared these lifetime goals with anyone?
  
I think the answer is that I am scared of failing and not living up to the expectations I create if they are said aloud.  If I don’t say them, then I’m not accountable to anyone.  And if I don’t meet them, I could easily convince myself I never was serious about them – so I didn’t actual fail. 


On this morning’s run, I realized I can’t go through life worried that I may not reach a certain goal.  I’ll never reach them if I don’t at least try. 


Saying my goals aloud not only makes them real, but it will gain me support from friends and family.  For me, having support is necessary – whether it’s a call or text from a friend, a reply on a blog, my mom watching my son so I can go on a 3 hour run, or my husband rearranging his work schedule for the day so he can run with me the last few miles of a long run.  But how can I expect support in reaching my goals if nobody knows what I’m after?


So with that said, here is what I want to achieve at some point in my life :
– Win the Foot Locker Five Borough Challenge (Nov 6, 2011)
– Marathon: 3:10
– Half-Marathon: 1:30
– Complete 50k, 50m and 100m ultras (First official 60k – Nov 19, 2011)
– Participate in and finish Ironman (Signed up for NY Ironman – Aug 11, 2012)
– Participate in and finish Western States Endurance Event and BadWater Ultra
– Complete all 5 Major Marathons (2 are completed: NYC and Boston) 


What are your goals??

3 Responses to “What are your goals?”

  1. Kristin December 1, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    Having goals and working toward them is the best part. I always get disppointed if I miss a targeted goal ("If I just pushed myself a little more, I could've made it!") but deep down, I love that I have something to chip away at.Badwater is no joke – I love that you've listed it! Whenever I'm out on a run I always think about that race and how runners have to run on the white lines to prevent their sneakers from melting. I've never run it, just thinking about it makes me tired, but I like reading stories of runners who have since it gives me a little extra spring in my step to push through a measly single digit run.Are you considering a Ragnar relay at all? They've changed the NY relay from the Hudson Valley to the Adirondacks. I'm thinking about it!

  2. Michele @nycrunningmama December 1, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    Badwater is definitely a lifetime goal – definitely do not have the time to devote to training for that race yet – hopefully in about 15-20 years I will =)I would love to do the Ragnar relay – PLEASE let me know if you decide to put a team together or know of a team with some openings =)

  3. Jess @ Fit Chick in the City December 2, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    It is scary saying them out loud, but it also feels good to let everyone what you want to accomplish.

Leave a Reply

