Media Day

1 Nov

Today was such a fun, exciting day!  For almost 3 hours, my mom, my son, AJ, and I were able to experience what it (almost) feels like to be an elite runner or a VIP running the marathon during race week.  


The other individuals participating in the Foot Locker 5 Borough Challenge (FL5BC) and I were invited to the NYC Media Center – a bustling hub of reporters, camera crews, and workers.  We were to meet with the media, take some photos, receive our race-day credentials, and go over last minute details for Sunday.

After a brief summary of this year’s FL5BC theme, the other 4 runners and I were introduced to members of the media and asked to discuss why we were selected to represent our respective borough. (Here are our stories)

Talking to the media about how running helped me get through my deployments to Iraq

The 5 participants of the FL5BC posing for some photo-ops!

Then there were some individual photos –
My mom, son, and I


My son, AJ, and I












Next, we were asked to do one-on-one interviews with any media outlet that may have wanted to ask us specific questions or take photos of us running.

 
Meeting (and being interviewed by) Carrie Tollefson!
AJ enjoying plenty of open space to explore while I’m getting interviewed

After a few hours, I was exhausted!!  How do celebrities or elite athletes manage to do interviews all day??

I was honored to finally meet Mary Wittenberg, the President and CEO of NYRR and the Race Manager for the NYC Marathon.  Talk about a dream job!!

Meeting Mary!

Right before we walked out the door, we bumped into Bruce Beck, the weekday sports anchor for WNBC, and the reporter who will be interviewing the 5 runners after the marathon on Sunday.  Of course, we couldn’t pass up an opportunity for a photo!


Just a few outtakes from the day:

AJ getting close with the Tiffany’s Trophy (it is awarded to the winner of the FL5BC)

Hanging out in the bathroom – necessary quiet location to nurse AJ in private!  He refuses to let me use the nursing cover! 


Giving Grandma smooches!

One Response to “Media Day”

  1. Nicole November 2, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    This post has been removed by a blog administrator.

Leave a Reply

